Tigersharks on Winning Streak

    On Tuesday, June 18, the Sewanee Tigersharks hosted the McMinnville Swim Team. The Tigersharks dominated the McMinnville meet, ultimately winning with 423 points to McMinnville’s 191 points. On Saturday, June 29, the Tigersharks continued their winning streak in a double-dual, defeating the Shelbyville Sharks 342 points to 262 points, and the LA Wave from Lawrenceburg 389 points to 140 points.

    A host of Tigershark swimmers contributed to the win over McMinnville, with 36 swimmers contributing points in one or more individual events. Tigershark relays also scored big at the meet, finishing first in 12 out of 15 relay events. Three new Tigershark team records were set at the McMinnville meet. Anara Summers (9) set a new team record of 1:28.37 in the Girls’ 9-10 100 M Individual Medley, breaking Loulie Frazier’s record of 1:29.44 from 2018; The 9-10 Boys’ 100 M Free Relay team of Kiran Malde, Will Turrell, Will Roberts, and Sam Frazier set a new team record with a 1:11.35, breaking the 2013 record of 1:11.44 set by Porter Neubauer, Harrison Hartman, Morgan Moulton, and Zolon Knoll. Finally, the 9-10 100 M Mixed Medley Relay team of Sarah Russell Roberson, Anara Summers, Sam Frazier, and Kiran Malde set a new team record with a time of 1:15.70, breaking the 2015 record of 1:16.84 set by Libby Neubauer, Jackson Frazier, Edie Paterson, and David Dolack.

    Tigershark newcomer AJ Clements (14) had an exceptional meet against Shelbyville/Lawrenceburg, finishing first in the 13-14 Boys Category with time drops in the 50 Free (29.59), 50 Back (33.77), and 50 Fly (32.19). Additional Tigershark swimmers with three first place finishes include Konrad Knoll (8 & U Boys’ 25 Free, 100 IM, 25 Fly), Kiran Malde (9-10 Boys’ 50 Free, 100 IM, and 25 FLy), Millie Roberts (8 & U Girls’ 25 Free, 25 Back, and 25 Fly), and Anara Summers (9-10 Girls’ 50 Free, 25 Breast, and 100 IM). Arabella Barry (6), Lily Camp (8), Max Goodpaster (8), Sophia Hartman (18), Cooper Knight (6), Zolon Knoll (15), Reese Michaels (13), Libby Neubauer (14), Verena Pate (14), Aidan Smith (17), Eli Summers (6), Will Turrell (10), and Toby Van de Ven (12) all contributed to the team win over Shelbyville/Lawrenceburg with one or two first place finishes in individual events.

    Several swimmers competed in their first Tigershark meet against McMinnville including: Suzanna Camp (4), Kyla Kilgore (7), Jane Roberts (5), Sadie Tiernan (5), Chloe Tiner (7), and Nym Tiner (5). Additionally, Remy Garcia (6) competed in his first meet as a Tigershark in the double-dual meet against Shelbyville and Lawrenceburg.

    The Tigersharks will continue practicing hard for the final two weeks of the season and return to competition on Saturday, July 13, when they host 600+ swimmers and their families for the annual RACE League Championships at the University of the South Natatorium. 

    Add Snippet